BonkyGFX - Create a new Base Graphics set on macOS

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

nanapipirara
Engineer
Engineer

BonkyGFX - Create a new Base Graphics set on macOS

Post by nanapipirara »

Hi everyone,

When I was a kid I once created a full stylized pixel art 'skin' for SimCity2000. Unfortunately it's been lost in time and space. But I'd like to create a similar very stylized colorful set for OpenTTD. Just to replace all the main graphics. I understand it won't match with all the interesting NewGRFs out there if the style is completely unique, but I think it would be a fun project nonetheless.

I am a professional animator and know my way around graphical software and pixel art, I can code a few languages on an intermediate level, but I'm having trouble getting started.

Is there a way to unpack and repack the base graphics on macOS? Where do I start?
Last edited by nanapipirara on 24 Dec 2023 09:18, edited 1 time in total.
kamnet

Re: Create a new Base Graphics set on macOS

Post by kamnet »

The source code for OpenGFX is here: https://github.com/OpenTTD/OpenGFX

Compiling this copy of the code will require using Python as a pre-processor, and downloading and installing nmlc (NML compiler). NML is a meta-language that is fairly easy for those with some programming experience to pick up on, and it's not too terribly horrible for novice users, either. The pnml and nm files are plain text files that can be edited in any text editing program. There's a pretty detailed online manual and plenty of people to help you with questions.