[How-to] Use newgrf sets

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2016
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

some sets work, other works on the patch (and some are patch screens) other too are modifications for the graphic files

for newgrfs read the first post of this topic to learn what set and how can be loaded in the game

now a little request for developers:
is possible to insert a climate condition to load certain sets instead exit, remove and restart the game to load a tropical climate game when you are playing an alpine game?... something like this:

Code: Select all

switch (region) {
case "temperate":
  tropicset.grf
  break;
case "alpine":
  arcticset.grf
  alpine.grf //this to make the sub-snow line gound green like temperate
  break;
case "temperate":
  dbsetxl.grf
  cargoset.grf
  break;
case "toyland"
  mars.grf
  break;
}
to avoid errors of users this may be written as
:tropic
setxxx.grf
:alpine
setxxx.grf
setyyy.grf
...
and processed automatically by the game as a switch statement
this will be useful
User avatar
habell
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 374
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 12:47
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands

Post by habell »

Wolf01 wrote:some sets work, other works on the patch (and some are patch screens) other too are modifications for the graphic files

for newgrfs read the first post of this topic to learn what set and how can be loaded in the game
I know newshipsw.grf is supported (it says to in your first post). :roll:

But as I already pointed out all grf files in my list (including newshipsw.grf) can not be activated by clicking on them.
peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1734
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Post by peter1138 »

The newgrf settings window doesn't do anything.

If you have the grfs in your config file, they are loaded.
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
User avatar
habell
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 374
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 12:47
Location: Veenendaal, The Netherlands

Post by habell »

peter1138 wrote:The newgrf settings window doesn't do anything.

If you have the grfs in your config file, they are loaded.
Maybe they are loaded, but they don't do anything.

I'm running on linux and I can see the file is loaded. But I can't see anything different in de plane purcase window. I've checked from year 1950 to 1990, but all planes are the standard TTD planes. :?
So I think it's not working on linux yet.
I've tested the same on windows, and it's working there.
mrbdoom
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Dec 2005 11:36
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by mrbdoom »

I tried to apply the signalsw.grf but the grf id is FFFFFFFFFFF, so the grf doesn't work. newgrfw.grf is in openttd dir, i've edited the openttd.cfg correctly and newgrf subfolder is in d:\games\openttd!
User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7595
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

grf files go into /data

signalsw.grf is already included anyway.
Image
MeusH
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 4349
Joined: 25 Oct 2004 15:39
Location: Mississauga

Post by MeusH »

newgrfw.grf?
If you mean *.grf (any .grf file), you need to put them all to /openttd/data/
.cfg files stay, however, in /opentttd/
Rensiej
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 09:42
Location: Arnhem, The Netherlands

Re: [How-to] Use newgrf sets

Post by Rensiej »

Wolf01 wrote:a simple howto

to make the sets work you have to:
1) open the openttd.cfg file
2) go at the endo of the file and write the following:

Code: Select all

[newgrf]
firstset.grf
secondset.grf
thirdset.grf
...
where firstset, secondset etc.. are the names of the .grf files of the set
the files are loaded from the 0 to the 2... so if the secondset has some features that are also in the firstset, the features of the firstset would be overwritten

if you want to have more than one combination of sets you can do this:

Code: Select all

[newgrf]
#COMBINATION 1
firstset.grf
secondset.grf

#COMBINATION 2
#another_firstset.grf
#another_secondset.grf
now you ca switch beetwen the combinations by removing the "#" from before one combination number and add it to the other combination, don't try to activate both combinations because can happen some errors
[/code]

3) Here is the default combination:

Code: Select all

[newgrf]
#DEFAULT
tempsetw.grf
arcticsetw.grf
newshipsw.grf
#cargosetw.grf

if you have some problems post them here: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=9376
It's probably a dumb question, but how do I open the .cfg file in the firts place? with notepad? or requires it a program? :oops:
User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2016
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

you can use a simple notepad you want like windows' notepad, notepad++, EditCFG, EditPad
Rensiej
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 09:42
Location: Arnhem, The Netherlands

Post by Rensiej »

Thanks, but when I open the openttd.cfg file with notepad I get symbols like these:
xÀ“«ˆ‘ˆ 
User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2016
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

are you sure that is the openttd.cfg in the main directory?
the game works?

the original CFG file should appear like this:

Code: Select all

[misc]
display_opt = SHOW_TOWN_NAMES|SHOW_STATION_NAMES|SHOW_SIGNS|FULL_ANIMATION|FULL_DETAIL|7
news_display_opt = 1431655765
fullscreen = false
language = italian.lng
resolution = 1400,978
cache_sprites = false
screenshot_format = png
savegame_format = 
rightclick_emulate = false
news_ticker_sound = false

[win32]
display_hz = 0
force_full_redraw = false
fullscreen_bpp = 8
double_size = false

[network]
server_bind_ip = 0.0.0.0
server_port = 3979
server_advertise = true
player_name = Wolf01
server_password = 
server_name = Wolf01
connect_to_ip = 
network_id = dba86c38d9ed6e2d7b2f5bac58037cc1
autoclean_companies = false
autoclean_unprotected = 12
autoclean_protected = 36
lan_internet = 1
restart_game_date = 0
rcon_password = 
max_join_time = 500
pause_on_join = false

[music]
playlist = 4
music_vol = 76
effect_vol = 94
custom_1 = 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
custom_2 = 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
playing = false
shuffle = true
extmidi = timidity

[gameopt]
diff_level = 3
diff_custom = 0,0,2,1,500,2,0,0,0,0,3,0,0,0,1,1,0,0
currency = ITL
distances = metric
town_names = american
landscape = normal
autosave = yearly
road_side = right

[patches]
build_on_slopes = true
mammoth_trains = true
join_stations = true
station_spread = 40
full_load_any = true
modified_catchment = true
inflation = true
selectgoods = true
longbridges = true
gotodepot = true
build_rawmaterial_ind = true
multiple_industry_per_town = true
same_industry_close = true
signal_side = true
new_nonstop = true
roadveh_queue = true
snow_line_height = 7
bribe = true
new_depot_finding = true
nonuniform_stations = true
always_small_airport = false
realistic_acceleration = true
improved_load = true
max_trains = 590
max_roadveh = 590
max_aircraft = 240
max_ships = 240
servint_ispercent = false
servint_trains = 150
servint_roadveh = 150
servint_ships = 360
servint_aircraft = 100
autorenew = true
autorenew_months = -6
autorenew_money = 100000
new_pathfinding = true
pf_maxlength = 4096
pf_maxdepth = 48
ai_disable_veh_train = false
ai_disable_veh_roadveh = false
ai_disable_veh_aircraft = false
ai_disable_veh_ship = false
starting_date = 1950
colored_news_date = 20000101
extra_dynamite = true
never_expire_vehicles = true
extend_vehicle_life = 0
auto_euro = true
serviceathelipad = true
smooth_economy = true
dist_local_authority = 20
wait_oneway_signal = 15
wait_twoway_signal = 41
ainew_active = true
vehicle_speed = true
lost_train_days = 180
train_income_warn = true
order_review_system = 1
status_long_date = true
show_finances = false
autoscroll = false
errmsg_duration = 5
toolbar_pos = 1
keep_all_autosave = false
autosave_on_exit = false
bridge_pillars = true
invisible_trees = true
drag_signals_density = 3
window_snap_radius = 10
population_in_label = true
allow_shares = false
ending_date = 2051
no_servicing_if_no_breakdowns = false
map_x = 6
map_y = 6
forbid_90_deg = true
new_pathfinding_all = true
npf_rail_firstred_penalty = 1000
npf_rail_station_penalty = 100
npf_rail_slope_penalty = 100
npf_rail_lastred_penalty = 1000
npf_rail_curve_penalty = 1
npf_rail_firstred_exit_penalty = 10000
npf_max_search_nodes = 10000
npf_buoy_penalty = 200
npf_water_curve_penalty = 25
npf_rail_depot_reverse_penalty = 5000
npf_road_curve_penalty = 1
npf_crossing_penalty = 300
auto_pbs_placement = true
wagon_speed_limits = true
link_terraform_toolbar = true
reverse_scroll = false
max_autosave_num = 16
ai_in_multiplayer = false
ai_gpmi = true

[newgrf]
# OK - the game works with no errors and the set is fully supported
# Works - the game works but the set is not fully supported
# Starts - the game starts but the set is not supported, various errors
# OoO - Out of Order, the game doesn't start

alpinew.grf			#Works
##cargosetw.grf     #Works
##dbsetw.grf 		#Works
##dbsetxlw.grf		#Works
##mars.grf 			#OoO
newshipsw.grf
##newstatsw.grf     #OoO is automatically loaded like foundations and canals?
##planesetw.grf     #OK
planesetw_459.grf
##tempenh2.grf      #Works, seem OK (1st version)
##tempenhw.grf      #Works, seem OK (2nd version)
##tempsetw.grf      #Works
##tropicstw.grf     #Starts
##ttrsw.grf         #Starts (total town replacement set by zimmlock)

[servers]

[currency]
rate = 1
separator = "."
to_euro = 0
prefix = ""
suffix = " credits"

[bans]

Rensiej
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jan 2006 09:42
Location: Arnhem, The Netherlands

Post by Rensiej »

ok thanks, and where can I find the .grf files for download?
User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2016
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

try to search in the forum, i found them here
User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7595
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn »

Thats strange. newstatsw.grf works in my game.
Image
User avatar
Wolf01
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2016
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 10:43
Location: Venezia - Italia
Contact:

Post by Wolf01 »

Born Acorn wrote:Thats strange. newstatsw.grf works in my game.
maybe i have an old version... or too new
User avatar
Benbo
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 380
Joined: 09 Jan 2006 18:51
Location: UK

Post by Benbo »

I have a problem, that needs to be answered.

I do as you say, but what you don't say, is where you put the GRF file. First, I put it in the same directory as the CFG file, and then I tried putting it in the same directory as trg1r.grf and all the original GRF files, but it doesn't seem to work. Where do I put them??
User avatar
Villem
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3310
Joined: 28 Aug 2003 09:38

Post by Villem »

In Data.
User avatar
Benbo
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 380
Joined: 09 Jan 2006 18:51
Location: UK

Post by Benbo »

Yeh... tried that, but it doesn't work.

I have a problem :? :( :cry:

Edit: Working now. Sorry. I put it in another Data directory that was linked with OpenTTD
User avatar
gkirilov
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 696
Joined: 03 May 2005 09:32
Location: Othala

Post by gkirilov »

Is the ussetw.grf (US Set) working in OTTD? I could not run it. It says that the set is designed to be used with electric rails.
OTTDCoop NewGRF Pack|Different sets of GRFs for TTDPatch (some of them work in OTTD) - 1|- 2|GRF sets for OTTD|OTTD nightly
Image
I hooked up my accelerator to my brake lights. I hit the gas, people behind me stop, and I'm gone.
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car. Oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car. Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you take the wall with you. Spoilers and bodykits are how much of the wall you take with you. Rollcages and windownets are how much of a mess you leave on the wall.
peter1138
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 1734
Joined: 30 Mar 2005 09:43

Post by peter1138 »

OpenTTD doesn't support electric rails, so there's your answer :-)
He's like, some kind of OpenTTD developer.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GarryG and 4 guests